The National Curriculum: State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum.

The National Curriculum covers learning for all children aged 5-16 in state schools, and sets out:

which subjects should be taught
the knowledge, skills and understanding your child should achieve in each subject (according to your child’s age)
targets – so teachers can measure how well your child is doing in each subject
how information on your child’s progress should be passed on to you
What are the Key Stages?

The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life.
The four Key Stages

Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11

The core subjects taught at Key stage 2 are